Home » Forums » DBManager General

How to connect to a mysql database on a linux machine (2046 previews)
How to connect to a mysql database on a linux machine Posted in 28th, 11/2005 10:57 by mwycliffe78
Hi all,
I am new to DBManager Professional, I have installed it on
my windows 2003 server, the installation was sucessfull, but
i am unable to connect to my mysql database on a linux machine.

After i have fed in the necessary parameters, and try to test connection, i get the error message that;
can't connect to MySQL server on 192.168.0.20(10060),
192.168.0.20 is the ipaddress of the linux machine on which my
mysql database resides.
I wonder what the problem is,
please help me on this.

Thanks
Acting on a good idea is better than having a good idea. /
Re: How to connect to a mysql database on a linux machine Posted in 28th, 11/2005 11:42 by support
Hi,

The best thing to do is to check is there is connection active between the two machines. here is a list of things you may check:

1) Testing mysql server. Logon to the Linux box and try to connect to the mysql server using the following parameters:

mysql -u [user] --password=[your_password] -h localhost [dbname]

If the connection fail it is most likely that the mysql server is not running at all. In this case just start the mysql server.

2) Testing the connection with a simple ping. This should tell you if the connection exist between the two PC's

3) Windows 2003 Firewall. It is always a good idea to check this first. Windows XP users with SP2 have been experimenting a lot of problems with most applications that use TCP/IP to do something. This is the case of DBManager/MySQL.

4) Check also the Linux Firewall, if there is one.

Best Regards,

Support / DBTools Software
Re: How to connect to a mysql database on a linux machine Posted in 28th, 11/2005 08:40 by edo\'donnell
Hi,

Have a look at your /etc/my.cnf file (or where ever it is)
and make sure it is listening on the 192.x.x.x ip and not 127.0.0.1